top of page



Each year, the Louisiana School Counselor Association has representation at the national level for School Counselor of the Year. Nominations begin in the spring to give counselors adequate time to complete the application and necessary documentation that include letters of recommendation, results of programs implemented to benefit students, and sharing how you advocate for the school counseling profession.

The requirements are as follows:

  • Employed as a full-time school counselor for at least 3 years

  • Member of the LSCA Division of Louisiana Counseling Association as of October 1, 2024

  • Implement a comprehensive school counseling program


Nominees will be recognized at the LSCA Luncheon to be held on Sunday, October 13, 2024, during the LCA Conference. We hope that you will purchase a ticket to join us as we honor and celebrate the nominees listed below and enjoy networking and the company of other school counselors.

Elementary School Counselor of the Year Finalists:

  • Khakillya Babers-Everett, Caddo Parish, Oak Park Elementary

  • Tracie Bordelon, Lafayette Parish, LEO Judice Elementary

  • Meghan Dwyer, St. Charles Parish, R.J. Vial Elementary

  • Lemesa Fleury, Caddo Parish, Eden Gardens Elementary

  • Sharon James, Calcasieu, Pearl Watson Elementary


Middle School Counselor of the Year Finalists:

  • Sarah Martin, Lafayette Parish, Milton Middle

  • Robin Wood, Rapides Parish, Caroline Dormon Junior High


High School Counselor of the Year Finalists:

  • Joshua Allridge, St. John the Baptist Parish, East St. John High

  • Chastity Craven, Lafayette Parish, Carencro High

  • Jessica Walker, West Feliciana Parish, West Feliciana High

  • Jacquelyn Walther, St. Charles Parish, Hahnville High


Amazing school counselors across our state are helping students dream BIG and providing them with essential tools to assist with success in academic, social/emotional and college and career readiness areas. The next school counselor of the year could be you!

A special thank you to the school counselors who read and scored the applications: Jessica Aslin, Royce Hooks, Meghan Duplessis, A’Rean Thorton-Williams and Tara Washington.

Contact Danielle Cole-Thomas, LPC, LSCA awards chair, at

School Counselors 2023
State Representatives 



Lindsey Carlino


Amy Arceneaux


Barbara Gray


Layla Touchet


Sarah Martin

School Counselor Spotlight

LSCA is starting a new initiative that highlights those in the school counseling field who go above and beyond to meet the needs of their students. Do you know someone who fits that bill? Send in your nomination today!

bottom of page