Presidential View. Officers. Committee Chairs

Presidential View

LSCA Headshot 1.png

We worked to execute this new modality under the old construct of guidance counseling, creating practical communication tools for students and parents, establishing an advisory committee of community leaders, and creating a school counseling manual to help guide future counselors. I eventually completed the certification process at Louisiana State University Shreveport  and joined the pool of applicants, and was chosen for the school counselor position. While explaining her expectations for the role, the principal told me, “If you advocate for these students as you have for your own child, you will change the trajectory of school counseling.” In fact, she was foreshadowing the many opportunities I would have to use my platform to advocate for the profession of school counseling- at the state and national level.  

Eight years later as president of the Louisiana School Counselor Association, I  reflect on my unconventional entrance into the profession and our ongoing battle to establish a professional identity and change the modality of our work.  My message is unchanged: “Answer the Call”.  Efforts to implement a comprehensive school counseling program will sharpen those  transferable skills that make you a transformative educational leader. The call can take you many places, but it is my sincere hope that wherever you land, under whatever title, that you are fulfilling your dreams as a school counselor, meeting the needs of students in your community, and striving to improve our profession.  That is the work and the ultimate call of a school counselor. 



Kesha M. Simmons, M.Ed., PLPC

Behavior Intervention Specialist for Caddo Parish Public Schools 

Founder of YouToo, Inc.

Managing Partner of The Family Connection Center at Clint Davis Counseling & Integrated Wellness

LSCA President 2021-2022

School Counseling: A Spectrum of Opportunity


Being a school counselor is a calling. I did not choose school counseling; school counseling chose me, and I answered the call.  School counselors are often called to serve in many roles.  As challenging as some roles may be, they have a purpose.  The multi-dimensional demands enable us to hone our skills, find our niches and discover our passion to become more effective counseling professionals   

When I first answered the call to school counseling, it was to serve as a parent volunteer, where I stepped in to assist my daughter’s high school principal, after two counselors retired in the same year.  It came about one morning when I encountered a teacher from the school who approached me in panic and disbelief after learning of her colleagues’ retirements. She said to me, “What are we going to have to do something?” Understanding my involvement as a volunteer in the School Counseling Complex,  I dashed home to get cleaned up and went to the school to see the principal.  There she was, sitting at her desk, with her head in her hands.  I asked, “How can I help?” She replied, “I need two school counselors.”  I said, “Well, you have one.  Now, we can work together to find another.”

Though I was not certified, I was willing to work for free to serve the needs of our students and protect the integrity of our school counseling program. For almost an entire year, I volunteered to implement what was then known as the Louisiana School Counseling Model.  Adopted from the ASCA Model, Louisiana School Counseling model was new back in 2013. Still, it was our roadmap for implementing a school counseling program using the three pillars of school counseling: Academics, Social/ Emotional Learning, and College and Career Readiness.



President elect

Dr. Dymphna Davis

President elect-Elect

Past president

Dr. Ariel Encalade Mitchell

post Secondary Vice President

Dr. Stephanie Eberts 

Secondary Vice President

Sarah Jorge

Middle Level Vice President

Mary Speed 

Elementary Vice President

Marquita George


Jennifer Bourgeois


Linda Anderson


Dr. Christianne Ricard

Committee Chairs


Linda Anderson

Strategic planning

Taneka Fuller

Publications & Advocacy

Tara Washington

Professional Development 

Dr. Stephanie Eberts

Nominations & Elections

Dr. Ariel Mitchell


Robyn Bentley

Social Media 

Rachel Young

Counselor Ethics & Professional Standards

Dr. Wendy Rock


Tirza Fernandez-Brazier

Government Relations

Kesha M. Simmons

Graduate Student 



Vinetta Frie

Awards and Recognition

Danielle Cole

School counselors of the year

Elementary School

Amy Arceneaux

Middle School

Destiny Jamison

High School

Tristen Bergholtz

Past LSCA Presidents

Over 50  Years of Outstanding Leadership

Agnes Shaw 1970-71 (Dec)
Charles Thompson and Frances Meyers 1971-72
Mary Higginbotham 1972-73
Betty Levine 1973-74
Harold Landreneaux 1974-75
Geraldine Fletcher 1975-76
Sadie Bodden 1976-77
Bob Viguere 1977-78
Tom Hosie (1978-79)
​Mable Santa Marina 1979-80
Kenny Curtis 1980-81 
Roxy Denison 1981-82 
Eloise Brown 1982-83 
Bess Johnson 1983-84 
Ethel Taylor 1984-85 
Janet Van Halen 1985-86 
Billy Fly 1986-87 

Kay Robinson 1987-88 
Diane Austin 1988-89 
Rhonda Chambers 1989-90 
Dorothy Stepteau 1990-91 
Sharon Rogers 1991-92 
Barry Solar 1992-93 
Patricia Thomas 1993-94
Charles Ortego 1994-95  (Dec)
Walda Gibbs 1995-96
Ruth Thomas 1996-97
Shirley Colomb 1997-98
Suzanne Mayeau 1998-99
Karen Pique 1999-2000
Sammie Saulsbury 2000-01
Cindy Francis 2001-02
Josephine Hawkins (2002-03) 
Alice Cryer-Sumler 2003-04

Robin Olivier 2004-05
Sundy Barjon 2005-07
Iman En-Nabut 2007-08
Wendy Rock 2008-09
Dee Piazza 2009-10
Brenda Eccles 2010-11
Mike Lefort 2011-12
Cathy Smith 2012-13
Jennifer Curry 2013-14
Frank Phinney 2014-15
Tara Washington 2015-16
Reshelle Marino 2016-17
Royce Hooks 2017-18
Denise Latour  2018-2019 
Veronica Douglas 2019-2020

Dr. Ariel Mitchell 2020-2021

Vacant Positions

Join Our Team

Open Positions:​

  • Technology/Website

  • Research Grant/Scholarship Chair

  • Graduate Student

Please contact Kesha M. Simmons to express interest at: